New EHB Board Unveiled

By Phiwa Sikhondze

The Minister of Housing and Urban Development, Appolo Maphalala, has announced the newly appointed Board of Directors for the Eswatini Housing Board (EHB).

The appointments, which have been officially gazetted under Legal Notice 106 of 2024, were approved by the Cabinet. The new Board members will serve a term not exceeding three years, effective from April 1, 2024.

Maphalala, who presided over the event held at the EHB Offices emphasized the crucial role of the EHB in promoting homeownership among Emaswati through sustainable solutions.

He highlighted the board’s expanded mandate following the Cabinet’s approval of the National Housing and Infrastructure Program, which includes constructing government offices and related infrastructure, thereby supporting the government’s decentralization policy.

“The EHB is not just about providing houses; it’s about creating a foundation for stable and prosperous communities,” stated Minister Maphalala.

He outlined the strategic initiatives aimed at aligning the EHB strategy with the National Housing Corporation Bill, which will soon be submitted for ministerial approval to ensure a clear and actionable strategic direction.

The Minister also assured the Board of the Ministry’s commitment to making land available in key areas such as Hlane and Buhleni for developing housing estates, government offices, and necessary amenities. This initiative aligns with the vision for sustainable urban development and reflects the government’s dedication to bringing services closer to the people.

The Minister further reiterated the Board’s responsibility to creatively address cost drivers to provide affordable housing solutions for various economic classes. He stressed the importance of quality, timelines, budget adherence, and corruption-free implementation in the second phase of the Institutional Housing Program recently approved by the Cabinet.

Jinnoh Nkambule, the re-appointed Board Chairperson, expressed gratitude on behalf of the board for the appointment. He affirmed their commitment to working harmoniously with EHB management, led by Mduduzi Dlamini, to ensure the successful execution of the Institutional Housing Program, which is vital for improving the lives of EmaSwati.

List of the newly appointed Board

Jinnoh Nkambule – Chairman of the Board

  • Dr. Khanyisile Dlamini – Member
  • Sidumo Dlamini – Member
  • Nontombi Motsa – Member
  • Walter Matsebula – Member
  • Sibongile Zondi-Hlathwayo – Member
  • Makhosi Simelane – Ex Officio from the Ministry of Housing & Urban Development
  • Mduduzi Dlamini – EHB Chief Executive Officer
Share With Friends